Texas Counties Deliver

County Commissioners

Commissioners Court
The County Judge and the County Commissioners make up the Commissioners Court. They meet twice monthly, on the second and fourth Mondays to deliberate and decide the business of Shackelford County.

  • Steve Riley

    Office Address:

    298 County Road 119
    Albany, TX 76430

    Mailing Address:
    PO Box 3067
    Albany, TX 76430

  • Lanham Martin

    Office Address:
    110 Fisher Street
    Moran, TX

    Mailing Address:
    PO Box 3067
    Albany, TX 76430

  • Ace Reames

    Office Address:
    821 N Hwy 283
    Albany, TX 76430

    Mailing Address: 
    PO Box 3067
    Albany, TX 76430

  • Cody Jordan

    Office Address:
    100 CR 241
    Lueders, TX

    Mailing Address:
    PO Box 2405
    Lueders, TX 79533


Rules of the Shackelford County Commissioners Court

Check the Calendar for the time and location of the next Commissioners Court meeting.

Description of Office: County Commissioner

~ From the Texas Association of Counties ~

The job of the county commissioner calls for hands-on service delivery as well as policy-making budget decisions.

Four commissioners, each elected from a quarter of the county’s population, serve along with the county judge on the commissioners court. In addition to assuring that county roads are maintained, commissioners vote with the county judge to set the budget for all county departments and adopt a tax rate.

Among other responsibilities, the commissioners court:

  • Sets the yearly property tax rate and approves the budget and employment level for the county;
  • Sets commissioners and justice of the peace precinct boundaries;
  • Calls, conducts and certifies elections, including bond elections;
  • Sets employment and benefit policy;
  • Establishes long-range thoroughfare, open space, land use, financial and law enforcement/jail needs plans;
  • Acquires property for rights-of-way or other uses determined to be in the public’s best interest;
  • Reviews and approve subdivision platting and wastewater treatment for rural areas;
  • Provides rural ambulance services and subsidizes rural fire protection;
  • Oversees the construction, maintenance and improvement of county roads and bridges;
  • Appoints non-elected department heads and standing committees;
  • Supervises and controls the county courthouse, county buildings and facilities;
  • Adopts a county budget;
  • Determines county tax rates;
  • Fills vacancies in elective and appointive positions; and
  • Has exclusive authority to authorize contracts in the name of the county.